DECEMBER 8-10

southern%20region%20usgbc_edited.png

SCHEDULE AT A GLANCE

header 6x5.PNG

 

Individuals around the world are working hard in their local communities to raise the quality of life for human beings every day. Better Buildings, Better Lives: Big South amplifies these stories of leadership from business, public sector, and building industry professionals who are making a measurable impact every day from the South Central & South Atlantic regions. 

Designed for green building professionals, the virtual conference will focus on addressing key topics and issues facing local and regional communities and how green building can create more sustainable buildings, cities and communities that positive impact human health and raise the standard of living for everyone.  

Taking place across 3-days virtually, Better Buildings, Better Lives: Big South features people and projects that are leading the region to a more sustainable, healthy and resilient future. Plus, it’s a great way to connect with peers and get your continuing education hours! All registrations include access to recorded sessions that you can review on your own time.

 

 

 

ABOUT BETTER BUILDINGS, BETTER LIVES: BIG SOUTH

 
Where the Southern Green Building Community unites.

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday, December 8, 2020: Sustainability Leadership in the Private Sector 

 

8:45 AM – 9:00 AM ET / 7:45 AM – 8:00 AM CT: Conference Virtual Doors Open 

9:00 AM – 10:45 AM ET / 8:00 AM – 9:45 AM CT: Private Sector Leadership Panel 

10:45 AM – 11:15 AM ET / 9:45 AM – 10:15 AM CT: Break & Virtual Salons

11:15 AM – 12:30 PM /10:15 AM – 11:30 AM CT: LEED Project Showcase 

Wednesday, December 9, 2020: Response & Resilience in the Public Sector 

 

8:45 AM – 9:00 AM ET / 7:45 AM - 8:00 AM CT: Conference Virtual Doors Open 

9:00 AM – 10:45 AM ET / 8:00 AM - 9:45 AM CT: Public Sector Panel: Response & Resilience  

10:45 AM – 11:15 AM ET / 9:45 AM -10:15 AM CT: Break & Virtual Salons

11:15 AM – 12:30 PM ET / 10:15 AM - 11:30 AM CT: LEED Project Showcase 

 

Thursday, December 10, 2020: Health & Wellness Through LEED 

 

8:45 AM – 9:00 AM ET / 7:45 AM – 8:00 AM CT: Conference opens & Virtual Salon 

9:00 AM – 10:45 AM ET / 8:00 AM – 9:45 AM CT: LEED Practitioners Panel: Health & Wellness 

10:45 AM – 11:15 AM ET / 9:45 AM – 10:15 AM CT: Break & Virtual Salons

11:15 AM - 12:45 PM ET / 10:15 – 11:45 AM CT: Behind the Curtain: An Honest Look

at Green Building Lessons Learned  

REGISTRATION

The recording of the conference is available on Education@USGBC!!

 

sponsorS

Performance is the future of green building.

Arc empowers project teams and recognizes leadership for spaces, buildings, and places around the world.

 

See below Pearl Homes' realized vision of a net-positive future in single family development, consisting of 86 zero-energy homes and several dozen additional resort and hotel units on this near 18 acre property: Hunters Point Pearl Homes & Marina!

Pearl%20homes%20FL%20logo_edited.png
TLC_Logo_Horiz_fullsize_edited_edited.pn
gensler.png
Hastings%20Architecture_logo_edited.jpg
BofA_rgb (002).png
SBP logo (2).jpeg

PARTNERS

BOMA no back ground.jpg
Southface-logo-color-word.jpg

Better Buildings, Better Lives: Big South is brought to you with the support of our regional volunteer group:

Amanda Turner, Entegrity (TN)

Amy Pastor, EXP (FL)

Bill Hassel, Student (FL)

Cindy Zork, City of Hyattsville (MD)

Erica Weeks, Hastings Architecture (TN)

Louisa Rettew, Baltimore County (MD)

Sharon Richardson, Resilient Lands Matter (SC)

Shivani Langer, Stantec (TX)

Summer Minchew, Ecoimpact Consulting (NC)

Margaret Haerther, Video Consultant (GA) 

Mobile Users: The mobile version of the site is edited for brevity. View this page on a Desktop for additional detail.